SEPT CORDES

Sept cordes

Sept cordes is rooted in two fundamental observations: the beauty of Nature and the gift of existence, both of which are an endless source of inspiration for me; and the problem of technical reproducibility, the production of perfectly identical copies of a musical work. That is why I composed Sept cordes in such a way that it is possible to obtain several variants of the work, similar to distinct individuals of the same species or the same group of species.

Thus, for one thing, there is the original album, and for another, a set of versions created through combinations of variations. For this purpose, several variations have been composed for each movement of the original album. Then, by combining these variations, unique versions of the work are achieved.

For instance, one version might feature Variation 5 for the first movement (Naissance), Variation 2 for the second (Enfance), etc. Another might have Variation 4 for the first movement, the same Variation 2 for the second, but a different variation for the third movement, and so forth, without altering the sequence of movements from the original.

For a given combination, each movement presents a single variation among these lists:

Naissance: Variation 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5bis, 6 or 6bis
Enfance: Variation 1, 2, 2bis or 3
Âge de raison: Variation 1, 2 or 2bis
Maturité: Variation 1, 2 or 2bis
Errance (replacing Émancipation): Variation 1 or 1bis
Déclin: Variation 1, 2 or 2bis
Miserere mei: Variation 1 or 1bis
Second purgatoire: Variation 4 or 4bis
Quodlibet: Variation 1 or 2bis

Each combination of variations is released as a single copy on CDr, cassette or USB flash drive.

More details on the combinaisons

SEPT CORDES

Sept cordes

Il y a deux aspects dans la genèse de Sept cordes qui sont essentiels. En premier lieu, la beauté de la Création et le don de l'existence, qui sont pour moi une source d'inspiration inépuisable. Ensuite, le problème de la reproductibilité technique, de la production de copies parfaitement identiques d'une oeuvre musicale. C’est pour cela que j'ai composé Sept cordes de telle sorte qu'il soit possible d'obtenir plusieurs variantes de l'oeuvre, qui seraient comme les individus distincts d'une même espèce, ou d'un même groupe d'espèces.

Ainsi il y a d'une part l'album original, et d’autre part l'ensemble des versions élaborées par combinaisons de variations. C'est-à-dire qu'un certain nombre de variations ont été composées pour chaque mouvement de l'album orignal. Puis en combinant ces variations, on obtient des versions uniques de l'oeuvre.

Une version aura par exemple la variation 5 du premier mouvement (Naissance), la variation 2 du second (Enfance), etc. Une autre aura la variation 4 du premier mouvement, la même variation 2 du second, mais une variation différente pour le troisième mouvement, et ainsi de suite, sans modifier l'ordre d'enchaînement des mouvements de l'original.

Pour une combinaison donnée, chaque mouvement expose une seule variation parmi les listes suivantes :

Naissance : variation 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 5bis, 6 ou 6bis
Enfance : variation 1, 2, 2bis ou 3
Âge de raison : variation 1, 2 ou 2bis
Maturité : variation 1, 2 ou 2bis
Errance (en remplacement d'Émancipation) : variation 1 ou 1bis
Déclin : variation 1, 2 ou 2bis
Miserere mei : variation 1 ou 1bis
Second purgatoire : variation 4 ou 4bis
Quodlibet : variation 1 ou 2bis

Chaque combinaison de variations est publiée en un seul exemplaire sur CDr, cassette ou clé USB.

Description détaillée des combinaisons de variations